Lender comparison
Compare 18 Lenders Before Your 4 Pillar Funding Request
Last updated:
A side-by-side look at 18 U.S. lenders that make smaller personal loans, built for anyone sizing up 4 pillar funding options before they borrow $500 to $5,000.
On this page

How we compared 4 pillar funding lender options
We compared 18 U.S. lenders that make fixed-payment personal loans and accept requests near or below $2,000, the range most people bring when they look at 4 pillar funding options for a repair, a bill or a gap in cash flow.
For each lender we recorded six facts: APR range, loan amount range, repayment terms, upfront fees, any stated minimum credit score and the typical time from approval to funding. We took figures from each lender's own personal loan pages first. When a lender did not publish a figure, we used independent personal loan reviews and labeled the number as a reviewer estimate.
We left out any company whose main products are short-term single-payment loans or loans that routinely carry triple-digit APRs. Every lender below offers installment personal loans with a set number of monthly or biweekly payments. Inclusion is not an endorsement, and several of these lenders are not part of our network.
All figures change often and vary by state. Rates, fees, minimum amounts and even product names can shift between one month and the next. Treat this page as a starting point and confirm every number with the lender before you accept an offer.
Side-by-side table of 18 personal loan lenders
The table lines up APR range, amount range, terms, fees, credit floor and funding speed for all 18 lenders, so you can rule out lenders whose minimum loan or fee structure does not fit a small personal loan.
| Lender | APR range | Loan amounts | Terms | Origination fee | Min. credit | Funding | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upstart | 6.3%–35.99% | $1,000–$75,000 (higher minimum in some states) | 3 or 5 years | Origination fee 0%–12% | None stated | As fast as 1 business day | Thin credit files |
| Avant | 9.95%–35.99% | $2,000–$35,000 | 24–60 months | Administration fee up to 9.99% | About 550 (reviewer estimate) | Often next business day | Fair credit |
| LendingPoint | 7.99%–35.99% | $1,000–$36,500 | 24–72 months | Origination fee up to 10%, by state | About 640 (reviewer estimate) | Often next business day | Fair credit, steady income |
| OneMain Financial | 11.99%–35.99% | $1,500–$35,000 (varies by state) | 24–60 months | Flat $25–$500 or 1%–10%, by state | None stated | As soon as 1 hour to a debit card after closing | Branch help, secured option |
| Best Egg | 6.99%–35.99% | $2,000–$50,000 | 36–60 months | Origination fee 0.99%–9.99% | About 600 (reviewer estimate) | Often 1–3 business days | Good credit, debt payoff |
| Upgrade | 7.74%–35.99% (with autopay) | $1,000–$50,000 | 24–84 months | Origination fee 1.85%–9.99% | About 600 (reviewer estimate) | Often within 1 business day | Fair credit, long terms |
| Prosper | 8.99%–35.99% | $2,000–$50,000 | 2–6 years | Origination fee 1%–9.99% | About 560 (reviewer estimate) | As soon as 1 business day | Joint applications |
| LendingClub (now Happen Bank) | 5.96%–35.99% | $1,000–$75,000 | 2–7 years | Origination fee up to 8% | About 600 (reviewer estimate) | Often within 24 hours | Co-borrowers, direct creditor pay |
| Universal Credit | 11.69%–35.99% | $1,000–$50,000 | 2–5 years | Origination fee 5.25%–9.99% | About 560 (reviewer estimate) | About 1 business day | Fair credit, credit tools |
| Oportun | About 32%–36% (reviewer estimate) | $300–$10,000 unsecured | 1–5 years | Administrative fee up to 10% | None stated | About 1–4 days | Little or no credit history |
| Mariner Finance | 15.99%–35.99% | $1,000–$25,000 ($1,500–$14,000 online) | 12–72 months | Origination fee varies by state | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Branch or online, fair credit |
| Regional Finance | Often 24%–35.99%; may be higher on small loans in some states | $600–$35,000 (varies by state) | 12–60 months | Origination fee varies by state | Not disclosed | Often within 1 business day | Small amounts, branch service |
| Republic Finance | Up to 35.99% | Up to $10,000 unsecured; up to $25,000 secured | 12–60 months | Origination fee may apply, by state | Not disclosed | Same day at a branch; 1–2 business days online | Southern states, in-person help |
| Lendmark Financial | Up to 35.99% | From about $2,000–$3,000 by location | 12–72 months | Origination fee may apply | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Branch service, secured option |
| Rocket Loans | 7.99%–29.99% | $2,000–$75,000 | 3–5 years | Origination fee up to 9.99% | About 640 (reviewer estimate) | Same day if signed before 4 p.m. ET | Fast funding, good credit |
| Navy Federal Credit Union | 8.74%–18.00% | $250–$50,000 | Up to 60 months (most loans) | No origination fee | Not disclosed | Often within 24 hours | Military members and families |
| PenFed Credit Union | About 6.09%–17.99% (with autopay) | $600–$50,000 | 1–5 years | No origination fee | Not disclosed | As soon as next day | Low APR cap, open membership |
| Patelco Credit Union | About 6.99%–17.90% | $300–$100,000 | 6 months–7 years | No origination fee | About 630 (reviewer estimate) | About 2–3 days | Very small loans, short terms |
A few patterns stand out. Credit unions cap APRs near 18% and skip origination fees, but they require membership. Online lenders run up to 35.99% APR and often deduct a fee of up to about 10% from the loan before you receive it. Branch-based lenders such as OneMain Financial, Regional Finance, Republic Finance, Lendmark Financial and Mariner Finance tend to accept thinner credit files but publish fewer details online.
Origination fees matter more on small loans than most people expect. A 9.99% fee on a $2,000 personal loan takes about $200 off the top, so you may need to borrow more to net the amount you actually need.
Lender-by-lender notes
Each note below summarizes what a borrower seeking a smaller personal loan should know about one lender, including minimums, fees and funding habits that the table cannot fully explain.
Upstart
Upstart is an online lending platform that weighs factors beyond the credit score, such as education and work history, when it prices a loan. Amounts start at $1,000 in most states, but the minimum is higher in a few, including Georgia, Hawaii and Massachusetts. The lender advertises APRs from about 6.3% to 35.99% with three- or five-year terms. Reviewers report an origination fee from 0% to 12%, which comes out of the loan proceeds. Funds are often sent within one business day after you sign, which suits people with short credit histories who still need a modest amount quickly.
Avant
Avant focuses on borrowers with fair credit and makes unsecured loans from $2,000 to $35,000. Its advertised APR range runs from 9.95% to 35.99%, and terms last 24 to 60 months. Instead of an origination fee, Avant charges an administration fee of up to 9.99%, deducted from the proceeds and treated as part of the principal. When a loan is approved by mid-afternoon Central time on a weekday, funds are generally sent by ACH for next-business-day delivery. The $2,000 floor makes Avant a better fit for mid-size needs than for very small ones.
LendingPoint
LendingPoint lends $1,000 to $36,500 with terms of 24 to 72 months and APRs from 7.99% to 35.99%. The origination fee can reach 10%, depending on your state, and the lender may add it to the balance rather than deduct it. Reviewers place its credit floor near 640, so it tends to suit fair-credit borrowers who have steady income and a manageable debt-to-income ratio. Funds often arrive the next business day after final approval. If you use the loan to pay creditors directly, expect that part of the process to take a few extra days.
OneMain Financial
OneMain Financial lends $1,500 to $35,000 through a large branch network and online, with limits that vary by state. Fixed APRs run from 11.99% to 35.99%, and loans secured by a vehicle often price lower than unsecured ones. Terms are 24 to 60 months. The origination fee is either a flat $25 to $500 or 1% to 10% of the loan, depending on state rules. OneMain does not publish a minimum credit score. After closing, funds can reach a bank-issued debit card in about an hour, while ACH deposits usually take one to two banking days.
Best Egg
Best Egg makes personal loans from $2,000 to $50,000, with higher minimums in Massachusetts, Ohio and Georgia. Advertised APRs run from 6.99% to 35.99% on terms of 36 to 60 months. The origination fee ranges from 0.99% to 9.99% and is deducted from the proceeds; terms of four years or longer carry a fee of at least 4.99%. Reviewers estimate a minimum score near 600. Best Egg says about half of its customers receive funds the next day, with the rest typically funded within one to three business days after verification.
Upgrade
Upgrade offers loans from $1,000 to $50,000 with some of the longest terms on this list, from 24 to 84 months. APRs range from 7.74% to 35.99%, with the low end requiring autopay. Every loan carries an origination fee between 1.85% and 9.99%, taken from the proceeds before you receive the money. Reviewers estimate a credit floor around 600. Funds usually arrive within one business day after verification. If you choose to send funds straight to creditors for debt consolidation, Upgrade notes that the transfer can take up to two weeks to complete.
Prosper
Prosper runs an online lending marketplace with loans from $2,000 to $50,000 and terms of two to six years. Its advertised APR range is 8.99% to 35.99%, and it charges an origination fee of 1% to 9.99%. Reviewers place the minimum score near 560, which is lower than many online lenders. Prosper accepts joint applications, so a co-borrower with stronger income may help you qualify. Funds can arrive as soon as one business day after you accept the offer and complete verification, depending on how quickly your bank processes the deposit.
LendingClub (now Happen Bank)
LendingClub rebranded its banking business as Happen Bank, so you may see either name on loan documents. Reviewers list loan amounts from $1,000 to $75,000, terms of two to seven years and APRs from about 5.96% to 35.99%. The origination fee can reach 8% and is subtracted before funds are disbursed. The lender accepts joint applications and can pay creditors directly when you consolidate. Reviewers report an average decision time near one hour and disbursement often within 24 hours. Check which name appears on your offer before you compare it with others.
Universal Credit
Universal Credit is an online lending brand aimed at fair-credit borrowers, with loans from $1,000 to $50,000 and terms of two to five years. Reviewers report APRs from 11.69% to 35.99% and an origination fee between 5.25% and 9.99%, which is a higher fee floor than most lenders here. The estimated minimum score is near 560. Funding typically takes about one business day after approval. Borrowers also get access to free credit monitoring and education tools, which can help if you plan to rebuild your score after the loan.
Oportun
Oportun serves people with little or no credit history and does not require a minimum score. Unsecured loans range from $300 to $10,000, and secured loans backed by a paid-off car are available in some states. Oportun does not publish an APR range, but its own examples and reviewer estimates sit in the low-to-mid 30s, near 36%. An administrative fee of up to 10% may apply. Terms run from one to five years, and some loans use biweekly payments. Funding typically takes one to four days, and the lender does not operate in every state.
Mariner Finance
Mariner Finance lends through branches and online. Personal loans range from $1,000 to $25,000, while online applications cover $1,500 to $14,000; amounts outside that window go through a branch. APRs run from 15.99% to 35.99% with terms of 12 to 72 months. Mariner says origination fees may apply and vary by state, but it does not publish exact amounts, a minimum credit score or a funding timeline. Ask for the full fee and APR disclosure before you sign so you can compare the true cost with other offers.
Regional Finance
Regional Finance is a branch-based installment lender that offers loans from about $600 to $35,000, with limits set by state. Reviewers report APRs commonly from 24% to 35.99%, but state disclosures show that some smaller loans may carry higher rates, so check the APR on any loan under about $2,500 carefully. Terms run from 12 to 60 months, and origination fees vary by state. Borrowers usually finish the loan at a branch, where funds may be available as soon as the same or next business day.
Republic Finance
Republic Finance operates branches mainly in Southern and Midwestern states. Standard consumer loans go up to $10,000, and secured loans can reach $25,000; the company does not publish a minimum amount or a lower APR bound. Its maximum stated APR is 35.99%, with terms of 12 to 60 months. Origination, late and returned-payment fees may apply depending on the state. Branch loans can be funded the same day by check, while online unsecured loans typically arrive by ACH within one to two business days. Call your local branch to confirm small-loan minimums.
Lendmark Financial
Lendmark Financial Services lends through a branch network and states that the maximum APR on new loans will not exceed 35.99%. Reviewers report starting amounts of about $2,000 to $3,000 depending on location, with larger loans often requiring collateral such as a vehicle. Terms run from 12 to 72 months. Lendmark says origination and late fees may apply but does not publish exact amounts, a minimum credit score or a funding timeline. Approved borrowers typically sign documents at a branch, so the speed of funding depends on scheduling there.
Rocket Loans
Rocket Loans offers personal loans from $2,000 to $75,000 with three- to five-year terms. Its estimated APR range is 7.99% to 29.99%, lower at the top than most online lenders, but reviewers place the credit floor near 640. The origination fee can reach 9.99%. Rocket Loans is known for speed: borrowers who sign loan documents before 4 p.m. Eastern time on a business day may receive funds the same day. The higher credit floor and $2,000 minimum make it a fit for borrowers with good credit who need money quickly.
Navy Federal Credit Union
Navy Federal serves active-duty and retired service members, Department of Defense personnel and their families. Personal loans start at just $250 and go up to $50,000 for most purposes, with unsecured APRs from 8.74% to 18.00%. The credit union states that it charges no application or origination fee, though late fees apply. Most terms run up to 60 months. Navy Federal says most personal loans fund within 24 hours and same-day funding is available. Membership is the main hurdle, since eligibility depends on a military or defense connection.
PenFed Credit Union
PenFed offers personal loans from $600 to $50,000 with terms of one to five years. Reviewers report APRs from about 6.09% to 17.99%, with the low end including a small autopay discount. PenFed charges no origination fee and no early payoff fee. Anyone in the U.S. can join by opening a savings account with a small deposit, which makes it one of the more accessible credit unions on this list. Funds can arrive as soon as the day after you finalize the loan, though approval itself may take a day or more.
Patelco Credit Union
Patelco Credit Union makes some of the smallest loans in this comparison, starting at $300, and offers terms from six months to seven years. Reviewers estimate APRs from about 6.99% to 17.90% with no origination fee. The estimated minimum score is near 630. You can check rates before joining, and people outside Patelco's field of membership can join through a partner association. Funding usually takes two to three days. The short six-month term option can keep total interest low on a small, fast-to-repay loan.
How to choose among these personal loan lenders
Start with the lenders whose minimum loan matches your need, then compare total cost after fees, the monthly payment you can carry and how quickly the money must arrive.
- Match the minimum. If you need $800, lenders with $2,000 floors are out unless you are willing to borrow and repay more than you need.
- Compare APR, not just the rate. The APR folds in the origination fee, so it is the better number for comparing two offers of the same size and term.
- Net the fee. Subtract any fee deducted at funding and confirm you will still receive enough to cover the bill.
- Price the term. A longer term lowers the payment but raises total interest. Our personal loan calculator shows how much.
- Check state rules. Minimums, fee caps and even availability differ by state, so read the state disclosure on any offer.
- Weigh membership. Credit unions may offer lower APRs, but joining can add a few days.
As a reference point, $2,000 borrowed over 12 months at 24.99% APR, with a fixed rate and no fees, costs about $190.08 a month and $2,280.96 in total, an estimate that includes $280.96 of interest.
Warning signs when comparing small personal loans
A trustworthy lender shows the APR, total repayment amount and every fee in writing before you sign, never asks for money upfront to release a loan and gives you time to read the agreement.
- Upfront payment requests. Legitimate lenders deduct fees from the proceeds or add them to the balance; they do not ask for gift cards, wire transfers or a deposit before funding.
- Pressure to sign today. An offer that expires within minutes leaves no time to compare.
- Missing APR. If an offer shows only a payment amount or a fee, ask for the APR and total cost of borrowing.
- Unlicensed lenders. Most states require consumer lenders to hold a license. Your state's financial regulator usually lists licensed lenders online.
- Rollovers and balloon payments. A personal loan should end with a final regular payment, not a large lump sum or an offer to extend.
If a deal feels rushed or vague, step back. The same checks apply to any offer that reaches you through a 4 pillar funding request. The lenders in this comparison publish their basic terms, so an offer that hides them deserves extra scrutiny.
How a 4 pillar funding request differs from applying lender by lender
Our service is a connector, not a lender: one request is shared with lenders in our network, the lenders set any rates and terms, and we charge you no fee to use the request form.
Applying to several lenders on this list one at a time means repeating your details on each site and possibly triggering separate credit checks. A 4 pillar funding request takes about five minutes, may involve only a soft credit check at the start, and lets lenders in our network respond with offers for amounts from $500 to $5,000. A lender may run a hard inquiry before final approval, and you are never obligated to accept an offer.
Not every lender in the comparison above is part of our network, and we do not rank lenders based on payment. Read about the process on our how it works page, see typical pricing on our rates page, or check what lenders usually look for on our eligibility page. Many borrowers who read 4pillar funding comparisons also skim 4 pillar funding reviews to see how other people used the request form.
When you are ready, you can start a request and compare any offer you receive against the numbers on this page. 4pillar funding requests are free, and approval, rates and funding times always depend on the lender and your state.
Quick answers
Frequently asked questions
Why do some lenders on this list start at $2,000 while others start at $250 or $300?
Minimum loan sizes reflect each lender's business model and state lending rules. Online lenders such as Avant, Best Egg and Prosper set a $2,000 floor, while credit unions and branch-based lenders often go lower. State law can also raise the minimum, so the same lender may start higher in one state than another.
Are the APRs in this comparison the rates I will actually get?
No. The ranges show the lowest and highest APRs each lender advertises or that reputable reviews report, and only the strongest applicants reach the bottom of a range. Your offer depends on your credit, income, debts, loan amount, term and state, so confirm the figures with the lender before you sign.
Do credit unions really charge no origination fee?
Navy Federal, PenFed and Patelco state that they charge no origination fee on their personal loans. You usually need to become a member first, which may mean meeting eligibility rules or opening a savings account with a small deposit. Late fees can still apply.
Ready when you are
Compare personal loan offers in one request
No fee to use our service and no obligation to accept an offer. It takes about five minutes.